Having a GO-TO meal

I actually have never enjoyed cooking until university. I tried making my own food, following recipes before college but it never turned out amazingly, so I never loved it.

HOWEVER, since I started university, I have been cooking a lot and have now gotten to the point where I can actually cook without recipes. (I’m not ready to be on Iron Chef, Chopped, or Top Chef BUT I have grown to love cooking and that’s a huge step for me!)

 

Today I wanted to share my favourite go-to meal that actually is really close to that whole “healthy proportions plate guideline” thing that says you should eat 1/4 protein, 1/4 grains, and 1/2 vegetables (but let’s be real, how many people actually follow this guideline?)

 

Anyways, this meal takes only about half an hour to make which is great since I don’t have too much time to make meals all the time!

 

AOTD: Find a new way to cook/style vegetables to make them really enjoyable! (If you’re one of the people who like all their veggies raw, then hats off to you because I am not one of those people)

_________________________________________________________________

 

I will be calling this meal: The Perfect Proportions-ish
food_2    foood

HEADS UP: my “recipe” is a very general recipe because I figured out how to cook everything myself loosely~

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • Fresh Veggies (I used asparagus and green beans – which is what I recommend)
  • Meat/Nonmeat (I used Cut Chops Pork Loin~usually about $6 for two pieces)
  • Rice (I used cauliflower rice in the left picture and Brown Rice in the right picture)
  • Salt (I used garlic salt)
  • Pepper (or a seasoning mix like 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe’s)
  • General Tso Sauce
  • Olive Oil
  • OPTIONAL: garlic or grated cheese

MATERIALS:

  • Baking Sheet
  • Frying pan
  • Microwave or Pot
  • Aluminum Foil

 

 

LETS START!

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. While that is preheating, line the baking sheet with aluminum foil. Wash the asparagus and green beans (or other veggies) and trim part of the stems of the asparagus and the ends of the green beans.
  2. Toss the veggies on the baking sheet. Drizzle some olive oil on the veggies and season with salt and pepper. If you want to, this is where you can also sprinkle some cheese and/or garlic. Don’t be shy with the olive oil or the salt/pepper!
  3. Let’s add some flavour to the raw meat. Sprinkle pepper/seasoning and salt on each side of the raw meat and sort of massage it into the meat softly so the particles are sticking. (DON’T FORGET TO WASH YOUR HANDS AFTER TOUCHING RAW MEAT)
  4. If you’re using rice, about 1/3 of a cup is a good amount but you can go up to 1/2 cup. Rinse the rice and remove about 95% of the water. Boil water in the pot for the rice. The rice to water ratio should be about 1(rice):2(water). Once the water is boiling, add the rice grains and put the heat to about medium or medium-low. You will know the rice is done by checking on it and when it looks fluffier and the water has been absorbed by the rice, you are done.
  5. Whenever the oven is done preheating, put the baking sheet with the veggies in and let them bake for 12-14 minutes.
  6. While the veggies are in the oven, add about a tablespoon of olive oil to your frying pan and turn the stove to medium-high heat for the oil to simmer. If you can see that the oil is slightly bubbling “simmering” then turn the fire down to medium heat and put the meat on the frying pan. Let it sit on the pan for about 5-7 minutes then flip it over and let the other side cook for about 5 minutes as well.
  7. If you’re using cauliflower rice, put the bag of rice into the microwave to cook following the directions on the pouch. (Usually takes about 4 minutes)
  8. Once the veggies in the oven are done, take them out and plate them with the pork. Once the rice is done, plate that also. If you want, you can drizzle some general tso sauce over your meat to add a little bit more flavour!

 

And that’s it! Enjoy with a nice glass of wine ~

2 Replies to “Having a GO-TO meal”

Leave a Reply

